Indypendently https://indypendently.com/ Created by independents for independents: the soloists, freelancers, contractors, and entrepreneurs who are redefining work as we know it. en-us Tue, 13 Nov 2018 07:50:26 +0000 Tue, 13 Nov 2018 07:50:26 +0000 The (Un)Surprising Science Behind Productivity https://indypendently.com/life/the-unsurprising-science-behind-productivity Tue, 06 Nov 2018 06:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos https://indypendently.com/life/the-unsurprising-science-behind-productivity The Four People Every Indy Needs to Succeed https://indypendently.com/life/the-four-people-every-indy-needs-to-succeed Mon, 29 Oct 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos https://indypendently.com/life/the-four-people-every-indy-needs-to-succeed Rewired Not Retired: Reflections by a Former Advertising Executive https://indypendently.com/life/rewired-not-retired Mon, 22 Oct 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Tom Gabriel https://indypendently.com/life/rewired-not-retired Maintaining a Wall Between Your Personal and Business Expenses https://indypendently.com/start/maintain-a-wall-between-your-personal-and-business-expenses Tue, 16 Oct 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/start/maintain-a-wall-between-your-personal-and-business-expenses The One Thing On Your Desk Killing Your Productivity (Yes, It’s Your Phone) https://indypendently.com/life/the-one-thing-on-your-desk-killing-your-productivity-yes-its-your-phone Mon, 08 Oct 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos https://indypendently.com/life/the-one-thing-on-your-desk-killing-your-productivity-yes-its-your-phone Deciding How to Structure Your Finances As an Independent https://indypendently.com/start/deciding-how-to-structure-your-finances-as-an-independent Tue, 02 Oct 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/start/deciding-how-to-structure-your-finances-as-an-independent The Future of Benefits Is Portable https://indypendently.com/trends/the-future-of-benefits-is-portable Tue, 25 Sep 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/trends/the-future-of-benefits-is-portable How Independent Workers Can Save for Retirement https://indypendently.com/life/how-independent-workers-can-save-for-retirement Tue, 18 Sep 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/life/how-independent-workers-can-save-for-retirement What Makes Cities Attractive For Independent Workers https://indypendently.com/life/what-makes-cities-attractive-for-independent-workers Tue, 11 Sep 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/life/what-makes-cities-attractive-for-independent-workers How to Find Health Insurance as an Independent Worker https://indypendently.com/life/how-to-find-health-insurance-as-an-independent-worker Tue, 28 Aug 2018 20:04:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/life/how-to-find-health-insurance-as-an-independent-worker How I Moved Past My Self-Doubt to Build a Business and Life I Love https://indypendently.com/profiles/how-i-moved-past-my-self-doubt-to-build-a-business-and-life-i-love Tue, 21 Aug 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Ryan Estis https://indypendently.com/profiles/how-i-moved-past-my-self-doubt-to-build-a-business-and-life-i-love Getting Started on Building a Budget for Your New Business https://indypendently.com/start/getting-started-on-building-a-budget-for-your-new-business Mon, 13 Aug 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/start/getting-started-on-building-a-budget-for-your-new-business Six Things to Stop Doing Right Now If You Want To Grow Your Business https://indypendently.com/profiles/six-things-to-stop-doing Mon, 06 Aug 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos https://indypendently.com/profiles/six-things-to-stop-doing How to Work from Home and Still Be a Happy, Functional Person https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-work-from-home-and-still-be-a-happy-functional-person Mon, 30 Jul 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-work-from-home-and-still-be-a-happy-functional-person Why Independent Workers Need Contracts https://indypendently.com/start/why-independent-workers-need-contracts Tue, 24 Jul 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/start/why-independent-workers-need-contracts What Do Million-Dollar, One-Person Businesses Have in Common? https://indypendently.com/grow/what-do-million-dollar-one-person-businesses-have-in-common Tue, 17 Jul 2018 19:11:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/grow/what-do-million-dollar-one-person-businesses-have-in-common How I Stay Sane as a Solopreneur https://indypendently.com/profiles/how-i-stay-sane-as-a-solopreneur Tue, 10 Jul 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Laurie Ruettimann https://indypendently.com/profiles/how-i-stay-sane-as-a-solopreneur 5 Steps to Finding a Small-Business Accountant https://indypendently.com/start/how-to-find-a-small-business-accountant Tue, 03 Jul 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/start/how-to-find-a-small-business-accountant Yes, You Should Take a Vacation – Here's Why https://indypendently.com/life/yes-you-should-take-a-vacation Tue, 26 Jun 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/life/yes-you-should-take-a-vacation What New Government Data Tells Us About the Future of Independent Work https://indypendently.com/trends/what-new-government-data-tells-us-about-the-future-of-independent-work Tue, 19 Jun 2018 23:21:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/trends/what-new-government-data-tells-us-about-the-future-of-independent-work Want to Work for Yourself? Train Yourself to Be a Salesperson https://indypendently.com/start/why-selling-is-your-most-important-skill Tue, 12 Jun 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Jake Jorgovan https://indypendently.com/start/why-selling-is-your-most-important-skill How to Plan Ahead for Taxes as a Freelancer https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-plan-ahead-for-taxes-as-a-freelancer Thu, 07 Jun 2018 04:14:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-plan-ahead-for-taxes-as-a-freelancer The Best Time-Tracking Apps for Freelancers https://indypendently.com/start/the-best-time-tracking-apps-for-freelancers Thu, 31 May 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/start/the-best-time-tracking-apps-for-freelancers Should I Stay or Should I Go? One Freelancer Debates Taking the Leap https://indypendently.com/profiles/should-i-stay-or-should-i-go-one-freelancer-debates-taking-the-leap Tue, 29 May 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos https://indypendently.com/profiles/should-i-stay-or-should-i-go-one-freelancer-debates-taking-the-leap How Emma Siemasko Turned a Love for Words into a Thriving Business https://indypendently.com/profiles/how-emma-siemasko-turned-a-love-for-words-into-a-thriving-business Thu, 24 May 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/profiles/how-emma-siemasko-turned-a-love-for-words-into-a-thriving-business How to Bring in Consistent Business and Stop the Feast or Famine Lifestyle https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-bring-in-consistent-business-and-stop-the-feast-or-famine-lifestyle Tue, 22 May 2018 05:00:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-bring-in-consistent-business-and-stop-the-feast-or-famine-lifestyle Why I Quit Corporate Life and Went Independent https://indypendently.com/start/why-i-quit-my-corporate-job-and-went-independent Wed, 11 Apr 2018 18:17:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/start/why-i-quit-my-corporate-job-and-went-independent How to Tame the Fear of Not Doing Enough https://indypendently.com/life/how-to-tame-the-fear-of-not-doing-enough Mon, 09 Apr 2018 19:06:00 +0000 By Julie Vessel https://indypendently.com/life/how-to-tame-the-fear-of-not-doing-enough Design Principles for your Independent Career - Engineer the Life You Want https://indypendently.com/life/design-principles-for-your-independent-career-engineer-the-life-you-want Sat, 07 Apr 2018 21:46:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/life/design-principles-for-your-independent-career-engineer-the-life-you-want How to Get Started as an Independent https://indypendently.com/start/how-to-a-get-started-as-an-independent Sat, 10 Mar 2018 00:49:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/start/how-to-a-get-started-as-an-independent How Flexibility Changed PwC, and the Man that Made It Happen https://indypendently.com/profiles/how-flexibility-changed-pwc-and-the-man-that-made-it-happen Sat, 10 Mar 2018 00:40:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/profiles/how-flexibility-changed-pwc-and-the-man-that-made-it-happen How to Fight Your Inner Critic – And Win https://indypendently.com/life/how-to-fight-your-inner-critic-and-win Sat, 10 Mar 2018 00:37:00 +0000 By Julie Vessel https://indypendently.com/life/how-to-fight-your-inner-critic-and-win How to Weather the Cycles of Freelance Life https://indypendently.com/life/how-to-weather-the-cycles-of-freelance-life-with-jake-nassif Sat, 10 Mar 2018 00:12:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/life/how-to-weather-the-cycles-of-freelance-life-with-jake-nassif Cali Yost Talks Workplace Flexibility, and How You Can Take Advantage https://indypendently.com/profiles/cali-yost-talks-workplace-flexibility-and-how-you-can-take-advantage Sat, 10 Mar 2018 00:08:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/profiles/cali-yost-talks-workplace-flexibility-and-how-you-can-take-advantage One Digital Nomad on What It Takes to Succeed https://indypendently.com/profiles/one-digital-nomad-on-what-it-takes-to-succeed Sat, 10 Mar 2018 00:01:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/profiles/one-digital-nomad-on-what-it-takes-to-succeed Five Lessons from the Corporate World to Get Ahead as an Independent https://indypendently.com/grow/five-lessons-from-the-corporate-world-to-get-ahead-as-an-independent Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:53:00 +0000 By Jennifer Laible https://indypendently.com/grow/five-lessons-from-the-corporate-world-to-get-ahead-as-an-independent Five Skills to Move Toward an Independent Career While You’re Still Working in a Corporate Job https://indypendently.com/start/five-skills-to-move-toward-and-independent-career-while-youre-still-working-in-a-corporate-job Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:48:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/start/five-skills-to-move-toward-and-independent-career-while-youre-still-working-in-a-corporate-job The Rise of the Freelance Economy https://indypendently.com/trends/the-rise-of-the-freelance-economy Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:43:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/trends/the-rise-of-the-freelance-economy How to Tell Your Story and Sell Your Work in a Job Interview https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-tell-your-story-and-sell-your-work-in-a-job-interview Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:29:00 +0000 By Robin Oxley https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-tell-your-story-and-sell-your-work-in-a-job-interview Three Things To Do in your First 30 Days as a New Independent Worker https://indypendently.com/start/three-things-to-do-in-your-first-30-days-as-a-new-independent-worker Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:14:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/start/three-things-to-do-in-your-first-30-days-as-a-new-independent-worker How Millennials are Changing the Future of Work - And Everyone Benefits https://indypendently.com/trends/how-millennials-are-changing-the-future-of-work-and-everyone-benefits Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:05:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos https://indypendently.com/trends/how-millennials-are-changing-the-future-of-work-and-everyone-benefits What NOT to Say When Talking to a Client About Getting a New Gig https://indypendently.com/grow/what-not-to-say-in-a-job-interview-and-what-to-say-instead Fri, 09 Mar 2018 23:02:00 +0000 By Robin Oxley https://indypendently.com/grow/what-not-to-say-in-a-job-interview-and-what-to-say-instead Chris Guillebeau - Don’t Quit Your Day Job… Yet https://indypendently.com/profiles/chris-guillebeau-dont-quit-your-day-job-yet Fri, 09 Mar 2018 22:43:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/profiles/chris-guillebeau-dont-quit-your-day-job-yet How to Teach Clients to Use a Freelancer https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-teach-clients-to-use-a-freelancer Fri, 09 Mar 2018 22:28:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-teach-clients-to-use-a-freelancer How to Fire Yourself and Build Your Dream Job https://indypendently.com/start/how-to-fire-yourself-and-find-career-freedom Fri, 09 Mar 2018 22:17:00 +0000 By Stephanie Vos https://indypendently.com/start/how-to-fire-yourself-and-find-career-freedom An Independent’s Guide to Gallup’s State of the American Workplace Report https://indypendently.com/trends/an-independents-guide-to-gallups-state-of-the-american-workplace-report Fri, 09 Mar 2018 22:10:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/trends/an-independents-guide-to-gallups-state-of-the-american-workplace-report How to Answer "What Should I Do Next?" https://indypendently.com/start/how-to-answer-what-should-i-do-next Fri, 09 Mar 2018 21:57:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/start/how-to-answer-what-should-i-do-next How to Brand Yourself as an Independent https://indypendently.com/start/how-to-brand-yourself-as-an-independent Fri, 09 Mar 2018 21:45:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/start/how-to-brand-yourself-as-an-independent What the Rising Freelance Economy Means for Every Business https://indypendently.com/trends/what-the-rising-freelance-economy-means-for-every-business Fri, 09 Mar 2018 21:35:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/trends/what-the-rising-freelance-economy-means-for-every-business Diane Mulcahy on Why You Should Quit Your Job Hunt Now https://indypendently.com/profiles/diane-mulcahy-on-why-you-should-quit-your-job-hunt-now Fri, 09 Mar 2018 21:19:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/profiles/diane-mulcahy-on-why-you-should-quit-your-job-hunt-now How to Capitalize on the Rise of Remote Work https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-capitalize-on-the-rise-of-remote-work Fri, 09 Mar 2018 21:02:00 +0000 By Indy Editorial Team https://indypendently.com/grow/how-to-capitalize-on-the-rise-of-remote-work Three Ways to Be Happier About Work https://indypendently.com/life/three-ways-to-be-happier-about-work Wed, 07 Mar 2018 06:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/life/three-ways-to-be-happier-about-work Flexible Work Matters For Men, Women, And the Bottom Line https://indypendently.com/trends/flexible-work-matters-for-men-women-and-the-bottom-line Tue, 06 Mar 2018 06:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/trends/flexible-work-matters-for-men-women-and-the-bottom-line 40 Things I’ve Learned at 40 https://indypendently.com/life/40-things-ive-learned-at-40 Mon, 05 Mar 2018 06:00:00 +0000 By Brendon Schrader https://indypendently.com/life/40-things-ive-learned-at-40